Christmas in Shikoku

My family is spending this Christmas in Shikoku, Japan, but I’ve never been there and I know nothing of the place, so come along as I do my research! For those of you who have been to Osaka, what did you enjoy most on your trip? Any tips or warnings?

Below: the Church of Light in Osaka, built in 1989 by Tadao Ando, who is a laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1995. The church looks amazing from the photos that I’m finding and it’s definitely going on my list of sights to see. Unfortunately, I’m not in charge of our itinerary, so we’ll see. 

0498_tadao_am04012007_f

Below: exterior design of the fairly new National Museum of Art, Osaka, was inspired by the life force of bamboo and Japanese contemporary art. It was built in 1977 by Cesar Pelli & Associates (click here to see a Flickr album full of their work) with the hope of stimulating interaction between people and art, as well as creating a comfortable space for art appreciation. The NMAO’s name in Japanese, Kokuritsu Kokusai Bijutsukan, actually means the National International Museum of Art. So it displays both Japanese and foreign works of art, which is why this winter the museum is holding an exhibition for avant-garde Chinese contemporary art. That’s when I’ll be there, nice!

national-museum-of-art-osaka1217pw_osaka_day2_b

Here’s a jumble of random scenes, dragons and castles, night views of the city and streets, lots of clutter… I’m looking forward to a very Japanese time :) 
Photo courtesy of JapanNewbie. Anyone planning a trip to Japan should visit his site, it’s very down-to-earth and the photography is awesome of course!  

osaka_tour5singing_dragon1
night-osaka-citytsutenkaku2

So excited! I’ll be taking my own photos of course, so stay tuned if you like Osaka!

Digg!


About this entry